Thrifty Chic DIY: easy furniture makeover

In preparation for my move to Albany and my transition into the (God, I hope temporary) impoverished graduate student life, I wanted to save as much as possible on furnishing my new apartment. I ended up asking my parents if I could take some of their old furniture that they weren’t using anymore and decided to spray paint them to give them some new life.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a lot of photos to work with, as this was not a DIY that I was planning on posting (since, up until now, I didn’t have a DIY section on my blog!) In any case, I’ll explain my best and walk you through the process.

First, a “before” look at the old coffee table I took off my parents’ hands:

coffee table before

(I also did an old, gross-looking side table, but didn’t take a “before” photo!)

Please keep in mind that spray painting is something that needs to be done in an open, well-ventilated area, preferably outside. Additionally, the paint dries much better when in moderate temperature (60s-70s F).

Cover your work area thoroughly with a tarp or old sheets, and wear some glasses or goggles to protect your eyes.

Using a can of teal spray paint (I used Rust-Oleum for the coffee table, and Krylon chalky finish for the side table. I prefer Krylon as it’s not as sticky!), I turned the table upside down and started with the legs. Be sure to keep the bottle about a foot from the item that you’re painting, so all of the paint doesn’t concentrate into one area.

When I finished the legs, I gave it about 20 minutes or so to dry up a bit, at which point I flipped the table back (on its legs) and painted the top and the sides.

Give about an hour for the paint to dry completely before moving it indoors.

IMG_20160821_211226

IMG_20160821_211343

And here’s how it looks in my living room! 😀

 

20160902_164809

 

I used different brands for each project, but I’d say it takes an entire can of spray paint to cover a standard size coffee table.

If you’d like to see more quick, easy and thrifty DIY projects, share/like/comment on this post and let me know!

Leave a Reply

